Home > SharePoint > Blog is moving on WordPress

Blog is moving on WordPress


Hi, after trying for months I have to give up: I’m moving my blog from SharePoint to WordPress.

I have to admit that SharePoint is really a great platform, we can do many amazing thing. But from my experience, getting a fully functional, nice and mobile-compatible is a long process that requires lot of energy and smartness. I’d rather to preserve this energy for our customers!

Many drawbacks I’ve experienced came from anonymous mode on Blog site template. I had 4 major issues:

  1. LockDown Feature involve Authentication (Guys Really? http://www.sharepointblues.com/2010/12/22/blog-site-in-anonymous-use/)
  2. Custom Xsl for anonymous user and ListViewWebpart do not works (http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-us/sharepoint2010customization/thread/3d95f279-91c0-47be-b7b9-3a0f83ff4f8c )
  3. Managing anonymous comments aprovement is far to be easy. many others move comments on disqus.com
  4. You have to be well css-skilled to get a pretty design. And realllly, I’m a kind of CSS-Phobic

So I gave up. I’m moving to wordpress. From there I can easily manage my posts, comments,site theming etc…

Categories: SharePoint
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

